Texarkana Wilbur Smith Rotary
How Well Do You Know Club Member Matt Fry?
(Matt selected the following questions to answer.)
Tell us about your family.
My wife Amber and I have been married for 9 years. (10 in February) We have 2 children. Addison is 7 and Mason is 5.
What's the most unusual (or fun or interesting) job you've ever had?
I worked as a loss prevention officer at JC Penny when I was in college. It was surprising how my theft there was every day.
What are your pet peeves?
Loud chewing.
What are your favorite foods?
Mexican and Italian
How is your house decorated?
We have lots of family photos.
Have you ever received an award for anything, and if so, what?
I have been a teacher of the year on my campus and have won 4 Star Awards for school PR projects from the Texas School Public Relations Association.
Mention something about you that you think many club members may not know.
In spite of my job I am a naturally introverted person. I can speak in front of hundreds with no stress, but small talk and one-on-one conversation are difficult for me.
Mention something about you that you think many club members may not know.
I was the Editor of both the TC News at TC and The Talon at TAMU-T
What are your hobbies/interests?
I enjoy fishing, cooking, and watching football.
What do you most enjoy about your job?
I get to tell the stories about the people and programs that make LEISD great.
What are your favorite sports or sports teams?
Cowboys, Razorbacks (College), and Leopards
Do/did you play any sports?
As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
A Teacher
If you could be in a different profession or job, what would you prefer?
I would like to be a chef and may try it when I retire from education.
What is your favorite season and why?
Fall and Winter because I hate being hot!
What's your motto in life?
Don’t spend time worrying about things you can’t control.
What is your morning ritual like?
I am a quick riser. Shower. And 10-15 minutes of quiet time and prayer. I am usually at work about 30 minutes before the start of the day for me to get ready for the day and drink coffee.
Describe your closet.
Lots of cardinal red, black, white and grey from 12 years at LEISD. All organized by color.
Beach or mountains?
What is one thing which makes you different?
I think quickly on my feet and can speak for 30 seconds or 30 minutes without preparation when needed.
What would a perfect day, evening, or weekend look like for you?
Sleeping in a bit, Cooking breakfast for my family. Fishing together, and watching a movie with my wife.
Tell us about your first date.
Amber and I met through my sister at our church and spent our first date and my sister and brother in law’s house.
What is the best museum/gig/play/game you've ever been to?
The Civil Rights museum in Memphis was the most impactful place I have been. I was also able to take my daughter to see Beauty and the Beast on stage and it was a beautiful evening.
Which person in your life do you most admire (or has had the greatest impact on you) and why?
My dad has always been one of my best friends. He valued my input and opinion from an early age. He encouraged me in my pursuit of a teaching career when others told me I was wasting my potential. My mom is the greatest teacher I have ever met and I try every day to pattern myself after her.
What are a few of your favorite movies and/or music?
The Shawshank Redemption is my favorite movie.
What book are you reading right now and what is it about?
I just finished the century trilogy by Ken Follet about the world wars. I am about to begin Go Set a Watchman.
Where would you like to retire to (real life or fantasy)?
I would like to retire around here and travel. But I always like to come home.
What is a goal you have for yourself?
My next goal is to achieve my APR certification.
What is the last thing you geeked-out about?
The Apple Watch.
Do you have any phobias?
Do you have any pets and what are they?
We have a dog named Baby who we have had for 8 years and we recently acquired a cat. My kids are more excited than I am.
Star Trek or Star Wars?
Is it bad if I haven’t seen either?
Tell us about your kids?
Addison is similar to me. She is reserved and very observant. She is analytical and very loving. Mason is the epitome of boy. The term “A noise covered in dirt” could have been coined for him. He is naturally funny even he doesn’t try. They are my greatest treasures and a great reminder every evening of why I do what I do.
Diamonds or pearls?
What is the strangest thing you've ever carried in your purse?
I have carried my wife’s purse several times but am neither brave nor crazy enough to venture inside.
How do you like to unwind from a stressful day?
I like to sit in my recliner by my wife and watch a movie.
What is your favorite quality about your partner?
She is my constant. My day to day is hectic to say the least. She is my calm. She is my best friend. We laugh constantly and truly enjoy each other’s company.
What is a movie you've seen lately at the theater that you enjoyed and what did you like about it?
I enjoyed Ant Man because I went in expecting nothing and it actually had a great story.